The Smoove Grooves Series

This post has been in draft for three years, now. At the time, I’d published the first Smoove Grooves volume, and that was my first attempt at trying something new, more upbeat. Since then I ‘ve mixed an additional three Smoove Groove mixes and I am pretty pleased with the results of these mixes.

I usually create sultry, sensual mixes; this time I created an uptempo mix, with Smoove Grooves that will have your head noddin’ and body-rockin’. You can get your SeXXXy dance on with this mix too–hint, hint, lol! 🙂 The Music Minded Manic post details the sultry, sensual and SeXXXy Love theme, where you’ll get a better picture of what I’m talking about…

One more thing; many of my mix posts include my photos or video footage of the featured artists from a performance I attended; none here, so I just added a few of the artists’ videos via YouTube.

Enjoy!

Smoove Grooves – Vol. I
1. Breaking It Down – Petalpusher f/Ledisi
2. Children of the Sun – Positive Flow f/Heidi Vogel
3. Stillness Meets Me – Projections
4. Koko +Lee Roe – Mark de Clive-Lowe
5. Heaven Pt. 2 – Mark de Clive-Lowe
6. Youth [Intro] – Soul: ID
7. Stay With Me – (Grooveman Spot Remix) Platinum Pied Pipers
8. Breaking It Down – Liquid Spirits f/Raffaela
9. One the One – Roy Hargrove f/Renee Neufville
10. Perfect Sky – Reel People
11. Beauty & Sin – Soul:ID
12. Sex, Love, and Philosophy – Soul:ID
13. Know Your Name – Dwele
14. Get Ta Steppin – Hi-Tek w/Mos Def & Vinia Mojica
15. Earth Wind and Fire – Val Watson
16. Jimmy Down – Dwele
17. Searchin’ (Vibey Ayers Mix) – Steve Wallace
18. Feel That Music – Slakah the Beatchild

Liquid Spirits – Higher Ground
A few years ago I found this video just browsing and fell in love!

Courtesy of Pure Jazz

Heidi Vogel
Discovered Heidi from my Sista, Tracy who shared some really good music with me a few years ago. I love Children of the Sun where Heidi’s voice is featured on the second track of this mix!

Courtesy of Isabella Magalona

Roy Hargrove and Renee Neufville – On the One
I love this live version better than the studio’s

Courtesy of Renee Nuefville

Soul:ID – Love of My Life
I’m sorry this group broke up. This entire album is fantastic!

Courtesy of uduinc

Steve Wallace Sings La Donna E Mobile
I’m impressed by Steve’s talent on this piece! Pleasantly surprised to have found it.

Courtesy of Steve Wallace

Mark de Clive-Lowe
Gotta love this man! So damned talented!

Courtesy of Mark de Clive-Lowe

Oh wait, I found one of my videos!
Ledisi’s voice is featured on Breaking It Down, the first track. Her name is not listed on the original track and when I heard it, I knew it was her. Had to google it to make sure I saw her name associated with this song, which I’ve loved ever since I first heard it!
Ledisi performs Higher Than This at her CD Release Party, for Turn Me Loose


Smoove Grooves – Vol. II
1. Sound of the City Band – Sumthing 2 Ride 2
2. Marcus D -Titania
3. Mark De Clive-Lowe – Heaven
4. Miguel Migs f/Lisa Shaw – Give Me Something
5. JSoul f/Deborah Bond – High
6. Music Soulchild – Stop Playing
7. Soulive f/Ekene Nwokiye- Arruga de Agua
8. Jimpster – Closer
9. Foreign Exchange – Body
10. Lovebirds- You Give Me
11. Mark De Clive Lowe – Day by Day
12. A Forrest Mighty Black – Fresh in my Mind


Smoove Grooves – Vol. III
1. Jarrod Lawson – Music and It’s Magically Ways
2. Kool & Clean – Without You
3. Bebel Gilberto – Aganju
4. Leon King – Lizard Lude
5. Root Soul f/Leon King – Dream Come True
6. Slakah The Beatchild – Some Beats
7. Hill St. Soul – Feel Good Factor
8. Mark DeClive-Lowe f/Nia Andrews – Hooligan
9. Gotan Project – Last Tango In Paris
10. Down To The Bone – London Life
11. Liquid Spirits – Higher Ground
12. Mark DeClive-Lowe
13. Rasiyah – U Better Run
14. Praful – Sonar


Vol. IV. Butta Beats
1. Najai Soul – Just Relax
2. Negghead – Build It Up
3. Jazmine Sullivan – Music
4. Electric Wire Hustle – Thank You Steve
5. Janet Jackson – No Sleep
6. Mellowtune – Potatohead People
7. Tall Black Guy – Sweet Europe
8. Jamie Hawkins – Lost My Mind
9. Amp Fiddler – Dream in (Radio Version)
10. Slakah the Beatchild f/Devine Brown – Get Down Right
11. Atjazz f/Sarah Jane Morris – Fantasy
12. D’Influence f/T Money – Midnight Feel da Funk Remix
13. George Michael – Too Funky
14. Butts Fat Vibes – Slakah The Beatchild
15. Angela Johnson – All I Need
16. Foreign Exchange – Nic’s Groove

Leave a comment